Page 1 of 1

gps function

Posted: April 19th, 2018, 5:39 pm
by AriSilva
I do not know what is wrong with the gps function on my tablet (SAMSUNG TABA T280).
I´ve tried the simple example from the help , like

gps(open); // on Android
if gps(read,30) then // a successful attempt at a read, for up to five seconds
errmsg("Latitude is %f, longitude is %f",gps(latitude),gps(longitude));
else
errmsg("GPS signal could not be acquired");
endif;
gps(close);

And it did not capture the lat-long data.
The tablet has a gps, google map (and other apps) receives the signal very fast, but nothing happens with CSEntry.
Best
Ari

Re: gps function

Posted: April 19th, 2018, 5:47 pm
by AriSilva
I forgot to mention that I tried it also for 60 seconds, and it did not work.
Besides, and this might be the problem, the gps strength gauge shows nothing at all.

Re: gps function

Posted: April 19th, 2018, 9:22 pm
by aaronw
Your device's ability to take a GPS reading will be affected by environmental factors. Since your GPS gauge shows nothing it might be necessary to move around and retake the reading. If you're inside a building, try moving outside.

Re: gps function

Posted: April 19th, 2018, 9:33 pm
by josh
Just to add what Aaron said. Google Maps uses a combination of wifi, cell signal and GPS to get locations so it is able to get an approximate location very quickly even indoors. CSPro uses only the GPS signal from satellites which gives you a much more precise location but it takes longer and requires a direct of the sky. I have also found that the first reading can take especially long. Subsequent readings will be faster.

Re: gps function

Posted: April 20th, 2018, 10:18 am
by AriSilva
I´ve done all the tests outside, in a clear field, no buildings around.
As Josh said, Google uses wifi, whereas CSEntry does not. This might explain the difference in capturing the signal, but it does not help me much. I´ll try increasing the exposition time, but this also a problem, asking the interviewer to wait 1 or 2 minuts for the acceptance.
Besides that, I do not know what else I could do.
Ari

Re: gps function

Posted: April 20th, 2018, 6:52 pm
by AriSilva
Something that I forgot to mention is that the tablet I´m using (SAMSUNG TABA T280) does not have a telephone chip.
But Google works well around this limitation.

Re: gps function

Posted: May 20th, 2018, 5:52 pm
by blumski
You must also check that the location setting of your device is activated.