problem with excel2cspro

Discussions about CSEntry
sylvain

problem with excel2cspro

Post by sylvain »

hello,

I am new to CS Pro, so maybe this is obvious, here is my problem :
I want to develop a data entry application in order to numerise the result of a paper survey. During the data entry, person who are going to do this need to see the values from previous survey (not handle in cspro). So I figured I had to use what is called "lookup data", and in order to do this, I :
- created a dictionnary mapping my lookup data
- put my data in .xls
- tried to use excel2cspro, using, the xls file, the dcf file, and a new file for the data. When I click on convert, it crashes (excel2cspro stopped working...).

So here is my question :
- am I doing the right thing ? (and is the choice of cs pro judicious, it's a small survey, 5 pages questionnaire ?)
- do you see why it crashes ?

Enclosed is my dcf and my xls.
Attachments
pilier 1.zip
(1.83 KiB) Downloaded 302 times
Saint

Re: problem with excel2cspro

Post by Saint »

Hi Sylvain,
Want to assist, but not sure I understand your question fully. Are you designing a CAPI program, or a program to capture data already collected on paper?
In in case, the look-up dictionary should be connected to the main data entry program. If you can provide a bit more detail and the entire program, I can provide a bit more help.
josh

Post by josh »

Using a lookup file to load in the data from the previous is a good approach. Many other users have done the same.

I'm not sure why excel2cspro is crashing for you. I ran it on your dictionary and your spreadsheet and it worked fine (output file is attached). I just used all the default settings in cspro2excel. Did you use a different setting?
excel2csprosettings.PNG
excel2csprosettings.PNG (76.84 KiB) Viewed 6710 times
Which version of CSPro are you using? Which version of Windows and which version of Microsoft Office are you using?
sylvain

Post by sylvain »

hello,