Exporting using multiple languages

Discussions about tools to complement CSPro data processing
asheffel
Posts: 19
Joined: July 14th, 2014, 9:07 am

Exporting using multiple languages

Postby asheffel » May 13th, 2015, 8:48 am

Hi,

I have a CSPro application that was built to allow to run in English and French. It was adapted and used in French and some edits were made to the French value sets but not the English value sets. The English value sets are the first set in the dictionary, the French are the second. I am now trying to export the final dataset to STATA and by default it is exporting the English value sets which are incorrect. Is there a way to set the export to take the French value sets? Are there any solutions other than manually deleting all the English value sets from the dictionary in order to export correctly to STATA?

Thanks!

mussabahire
Posts: 22
Joined: September 5th, 2016, 4:55 am

Re: Exporting using multiple languages

Postby mussabahire » November 27th, 2018, 9:01 am

I have a same problem too.
Help us pls.

josh
Posts: 1865
Joined: May 5th, 2014, 12:49 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: Exporting using multiple languages

Postby josh » November 27th, 2018, 9:46 am

If instead of doing the export from the export data tool, you do the export from a batch application you can control the language used by calling setlanguage() in the batch app. You can use the export data tool to get the logic to use for the batch application. Here are the steps:

1) Setup all the export options you want in the export data tool
2) From the options menu in the export data tool choose "Copy logic to clipboard"
3) Create a new batch application, choose the same dictionary you used for export as the dictionary for the batch application
4) Paste the logic for the batch application from the clipboard replacing the default logic that was created when you created the batch application
5) In the application preproc (the one that ends in _FF) call setlanguage("FR") replace "FR" with whatever code you used for French in the dictionary.
6) Run the batch application, choose the data file to export as the input data file, choose none for the output data file and for each of the external files enter an appropriate name (there will be one of these for each record type you export).

romi237
Posts: 11
Joined: November 30th, 2018, 1:18 pm

Re: Exporting using multiple languages

Postby romi237 » December 1st, 2018, 8:52 am

Thank for the solution


Return to “Tools”